Painful Decluttering Process

One of the things which amaze me most about us humans is our ability to accumulate stuff. I’ve been trying to become (and stay) clutter-free for what it feels like a century now, And it looks like every time I try to get rid of stuff I end up with more. The journey to minimalism seems longer every time I try.

It’s overwhelming.

Today I decided to face my wardrobe. I usually do some sort of decluttering twice a year, and it hasn’t been enough. I usually forget the “oh, but this is brand new“, “but it looks so good on me“, “this was pricey“, items that I never wear. I’m not a super-consumer nor the kind of person who thinks that clothes are disposable items, what makes taking things that I barely used out of my wardrobe very hard for me, because I can see the waste of money right there.
But even when something is difficult, doesn’t mean it’s not necessary.

The final count of things that I’m letting go of:

– One huge 9-year-old purple sweater;

– One purple leopard (can you imagine?) sweater dress (who’s still wearing those?);

-One black & white sweater;

-One summer dress;

-One grey blouse;

-One navy dressy tank top;

-One black cocktail dress (LBD people, I’m not one of you);

-One button-up shirt that It’s too large 😦

-One purple minnie mouse(?) 3/4 blouse;

-One green summer blouse;

-One fedora hat;

20160223_164012

-Some old purple(I was into this color, for God’s sake) high heels.

-Golden ballet flats(I didn’t  even remember having those).

20160223_164410

13 things! It feels good. (I have to confess that I wasn’t strong enough to let go of one brand new super cute pencil skirt. Please forgive me, I’m human!)

Do you struggle to declutter as well?

Please share your experiences and thoughts on this matter on the comments. Happily, good insights are not clutter!

Have an amazing week, guys!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Painful Decluttering Process

Leave a Reply

